Experiment Disney Princess: First Results

Nine attempts at nine different princess hairstyles. Let’s just say, they’re definitely results. Enjoy and if you can do better, please tell me.

1. Mulan’s matchmaker look.

Mulan-disney-princess-15949473-1280-720    Mulan

This is the style that I’m the most disappointed with. The bun I ended up with looked really cute but it didn’t look at all like Mulan’s. I couldn’t get my hair loose enough on the bottom and high enough on top. I have no idea how to accomplish the loose look Mulan has. Every attempt, even when it felt extremely loose, was still really tight. And when my hair was that loose, the bun wouldn’t stay on top of my head.

In the end, it didn’t matter because it gave me a ponytail headache, so I took the bun out before the end of the day.

2. Sleeping Beauty

tumblr_lv7uhf69pX1qkfkhh   DSC01305   DSC01298

This look is extremely simple. It’s a headband slid slightly further back than I normally wear headbands. It looked cute, I guess, but I hate those kinds of headbands. They make the spot right behind my ear itch, so the style was done before I had finished class for the day. I wonder if a fabric band could still accomplish that look.

3. Ariel on Dry Land

ariel1   DSC01286   DSC01294

This was my first attempt at a Disney princess hairstyle. I was really proud of it at the time but looking at the comparison between my hair and Ariel’s I didn’t pull enough hair back. I think my barrette was too small to hold a lot of hair. Of course, that was probably due to the fact that I haven’t worn barrettes since I was about seven. I had a lot less hair then.

Despite the fact that the hairstyles don’t match exactly, I like this look. It was super easy and pulled my hair out of my face, which is nice during tests or at work.

4. Snow White

SnowWhite6    DSC01328

I think I did the best at matching my hair to Snow White’s out of all the looks featured here, even though her hair is half the length of mine. The bow is really cute but I felt really self-conscious at school with the big bow on top of my head. It isn’t a style I’ve done before and it didn’t really feel like me. It does look good and I’m definitely reusing the ribbon.

5. Melody

mermaid-the-little-mermaid-2-30208568-500-306   Ariel'sdaughter

I feel like I cheated doing this hairstyle. It’s a ponytail. There isn’t even anything special about the ponytail. No twists. No braids. Just a hair tie. On top of that, Melody isn’t even a true Disney Princess. She’s from the Little Mermaid 2. She’s a sequel. But I needed something easy because I had to be at school early for an exam.

6. Rapunzel

tumblr_m08iqiv7J31qb7f84o1_400   Rapunzel_blurry   DSC01314

First, let me apologize for the terrible pictures. None of them have been great but I really failed with Rapunzel’s hair. I couldn’t get an angle that showed all of the elements that went into this braid. Since I copied it from a mom on the internet, I will give you her site, and that photo is much better.

Remarkably, this hairstyle isn’t very difficult. It is simply two french braids, three tiny braids wrapped around the strands for one large braid. All the hairties and such that hold the elements together are hidden by the flower or more hair. I later added butterfly and flower clip things. They aren’t actual clips, they’re the kind that twist into your hair. That added to the effect a lot.

7. Belle, street clothes

Belle-3  DSC01319  DSC01324

I just realized that I forgot to put a bow in to complete this look. Oh well, it looks good, it’s pretty good in matching and the best part, it’s really easy. All I had to do was make a ponytail and flip the tail through a gap above the ponytail holder. That created the little twist you can see at the side of Belle’s ponytail in the picture.

8. Princess Belle

Belle_0   DSC01338

It took a while for me to figure out how to get the half up bun that Belle wears. I actually turned to Hairdo How-to again, and her daughter had dressed up as Belle for Halloween one year. Perfect! This style is actually more complicated than it looks. I made a few changes from Hairdo How-to. First, instead of rolling a nylon into my hair to give it bulk, I just ratted it. Second, the site tells you to use a bracelet to hold the bun, which gives the little tiara look that Belle has, but I instead just bobby-pinned the hair to curve under, hiding the bobby-pins. My only complaint is that my bun is a little wider than Belle’s. I’ll fix that next time.

9. Cinderella, pre- fairy godmother

images   Cinderella

Do you like my photoshopping? The hair tie I used was actually neon green, so I changed it to blue so that the hairstyle would match a little better. Cinderella is difficult to copy because she is animated without any definition to her hair. It’s a blob with bows or a crown or headband attached to it. I like the style and I think it adds to her beauty, but it’s not possible to do in the real world. My interpretation of this hairstyle is simply a low half ponytail. I think it looks pretty close, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

