Start With a Line From Someone Else (Part 1): Poetry Day 2

“Read through this list of first lines and think about what each one sets up. Choose one and let it lead you into your own writing – a paragraph or two of prose.”

-Kim Addonizio “Ordinary Genius”

I did this in the middle of the night when I woke up and couldn’t fall back asleep. It is very obvious because I missed the “paragraph or two of prose” part and by the theme I follow. So instead, I have poems starting with a line that Ms. Addonizio listed. Buy her book if you want the list.

Come sleep, Oh sleep, The certain knot of peace

The uniter of men

Joined more closely than the rain

Come peace, Oh peace that only comes in sleep

That marries poor and rich

And lights the dream again

Come to me in the silence of the night;

Unwelcome memories cling like shadows,

haunting, stalking, bringing

No sleep

Your breathing keeps time with the boots

of dead men marching across time

inescapable, unpardonable, unable

to Ever forget

Take these monsters from my dreams

They nightly devour my soul

pitiless, penniless, homeless

Residents of the night

Leave a Reply

