Start with a Line from Someone Else (Part 5): Poetry Day 6

“Take a line from another writer and use it as the last line in your poem. This is what Wilfred Owen did, borrowing that line from Horace.”

-Kim Addonizio “Ordinary Genius”

There is not much I can

give to show you of your worth.

A nickel and a kiss

are all I have to my name.

Lips ready to bestow the gift

upon your upturned face.

Safety I cannot

offer you from disease

cold hardship.

My home is a shanty.

New holes found

with every breath of wind.

Your breath can

Warm my frozen heart.

I listen to it

in the night.

Gentle as the lapping sea

Passing by the sand.

I can give you my breath.

I can give you my shanty.

I can give you my lips,

My nickel, my kiss

But

Some nights I wish my lips could build a castle.

One thought on “Start with a Line from Someone Else (Part 5): Poetry Day 6

  1. Nice work. Another interesting exercise in taking inspiration from other poets is a full on cento- rearranging lines from other poets into a new poem.

Leave a Reply

