A First: Poetry Day 14

I’m not sure what the actual experiment is right now, but I’m pretty sure I’m failing it. This will be the second day I’ve missed writing and according to Ms. Addonizio, part of writing is making time to write. Granted, I did have a long work day, a pounding headache and an awesome time watching The Great Gatsby. I love all the film techniques they used to mess with my emotions and emphasize certain ideas. I even like the mix of modern and jazz music.

Anyway, on to writing….

“Write about a first experience. (Read Elizabeth Bishop, “First Death in Nova Scotia“; Philip Levine, “Gin.”)”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

A note before I begin my poem. I wrote it at 4 something this morning because I was unable to fall back asleep. So if it doesn’t make sense, that’s my excuse. If it’s really good, please tell me and I’ll start writing at 4am more often.

My first drink

I was underage

But not really

In Spain you only have to be 18

Our first weekend out

Clubbing

Pounding music

Flashes of bright lights

Sitting on lounge chairs

My first drink was a taste

From someone else’s glass

           And someone else’s

And someone else’s

In Spain, I never paid

For a single drink

Leave a Reply

