Emotions: Poetry Day 16

“Write down three powerful emotional memories – one of happiness, one of grief, and one of love. Write three poems, or combine the three memories into one poem.”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

Walking in the sunshine

With my God

I look into the faces

of these little girls.

Laney smiles, impish

trouble lurking beneath.

Carly’s smile idolizes.

I will do anything

to keep them safe.

I have to mourn now

What I couldn’t mourn then

When I was too trapped

In the cycle of

                         His

Emotions

I lost so much

And time

Will never

                   Erase

The ghosts

Leave a Reply

