It’s Not My Job

“Make a list of activities you consider traditionally male or female….If you are a woman, choose a ‘male’ subject and describe yourself, or a woman, performing that action. If you are a man, do the reverse.”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

Male

Fixing a car

Fixing anything

lawn care

grilling

wash the car

tinkering

doctor

president

carry heavy things

pour drinks

open door

bar tender

police officer

professor

Female

dishes

cooking

teaching

child care

chores

making babies

nurse

first lady

carry heavy purses

serve food

waitress

librarian

So, wait

I turn the knob

                        then I light the match?

Or I light it then

                        turn the knob?

It’s not working!

I can’t get it to –

Eeee!

Okay, it’s lit

I guess.

Right, meat.

It’s so slimy!

Ew, ew, ew!

Eeek!

Why did the flames

                                get so big?

I think I burnt some of my hair.

Can I be done now?

Leave a Reply

