Gender Roles

“When did you first realize what it meant to be a girl or boy?…Write about that early experience.”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

Gender lines confused me

Damaged me

Abused me

I didn’t fit the “girly” mold

Hated boobs

And ignored boys

Was I a boy in a girl’s body?

Sometimes I thought so

But other times no

Was I nothing then?

Asexual?

Alien?

My body disagreed

Monthly reminder

Can’t be freed

Then I discovered I am Me

God’s plan

Perfect Woman

There is no mold in God’s workshop

All Handmade

Carpenter’s love

And so I am

Woman

Eve to Adam

Me

Leave a Reply

