I Want

“Begin with ‘I want,’ and see where the poem takes you.”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

I wish everything were simple

The rules made and known

No guess work

No games

I wish everyone spoke truth

And no one was left guessing

We’re not dating

We’re talking

Bullshit

Women want a savior

And to save

Men want satisfaction

No commitment

Or is it

Men want a damsel to save

A woman to protect

Women are afraid to commit

just in case he’s not it

I wish for a man

straight forward

Who builds me stronger

While letting me build him

Leave a Reply

