Blah

“Now try a different poem in which, rather than using one object as a metaphor, you list several…. In your own poem, make the emotional meaning clear.”

-Kim Addonizio

 

I feel like I struggled to make the emotions clear in this one. Or maybe it’s that I’m telling you the emotions but you can’t feel them in the words themselves.

 

You were a Venus Fly Trap

A sad clown

You were a mask

from ancient Greece covering the face of an actor

You lured me

a worm just covering the hook to pierce me clean through

You were the knife

that cut me open

Leave a Reply

