What is Love?

“Love consists in this, that two solitudes protect and touch and greet each other.”

– Rainer Maria Rilke

 

I have seen the contrapositive of this statement proven true so many times. For those of you who aren’t into math, I’ll try to catch you up.

So we start with the statement “If someone loves you then he/she will protect and touch and greet you.”

The contrapositive is then “If someone does not protect and touch and greet you then he/she does not love you.”

 

I’ve met several guys who have claimed that they love me. They definitely had the touching part down. The other two parts … not so much. I dated one who refused to tell anyone we were dating. We denied even being in a relationship. He said “Hi” but it still counts as not greeting me.

 

The other guy that I’m thinking of did not protect me. He physically hurt me. Maybe I asked for it but someone who loves me would never hurt me, no matter what. He killed me emotionally. I left that relationship with PTSD.

 

So, yes, love is when “two solitudes protect and touch and greet each other.”

One thought on “What is Love?

Leave a Reply

