NPR Has Ruined Me

“Think of what is happening in the life of a friend or family member or neighbor right now. The idea is to re-create what someone close to you is experiencing. You might research someone’s illness, or learn more about a city a friend is visiting. Maybe your sister is pregnant and you want to know exactly what happens during childbirth. Focus on another person’s experience, and after answering some of your own questions, try to enter that experience.”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

 

Okay, I admit I didn’t take this exercise seriously but some of my latest posts have been so serious, I think this break is warranted. I started out with the intent of seriousness. My sister has been married for almost two months, so I figured I’d do a little research on the woes of being a newlywed. The second article I read was this. I realized I wanted to take some of the points and write about Disney Princesses once they reached “happily ever after.” As I started writing, I realized that I was trying to write limericks. This I blame on NPR and “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me: The NPR News Quiz.” Anyway, enjoy, and if you can guess the different princesses, leave a comment below.

 

I was dreaming of finding the one

While singing with friends having fun

It won’t fly with the guy

When with seven dwarfs I do lie

Without change Prince Charming and I will be done.

 

 

She left the ocean, her friends and her dad

When he found out he was really quite mad

Now he knows I eat fish

It’s my favorite dish

My father-in-law thinks I’m a cad

 

 

I thought being a frog would change him

Instead, things are looking quite grim

He still has his pride

And I take it in stride

But man, what a pain to forgive him.

Leave a Reply

