Relative Numbers

“Do you feel slightly ashamed of some possession because it cost so much money? Write a poem persuading a reader that you were totally justified in spending this much. Then write another poem in which you challenge your extravagance.”

-Kim Addonizio, “Ordinary Genius”

Pretty Penny

Amount of money is not an issue as much as need versus want for me. Price doesn’t matter if I need an item. A cheap product can still cause me to feel guilt for purchasing it if I don’t need it.

Poem One

It was only $5

And it’s Christmastime,

And Anchorman is funny,

And I thought someone

Would bid higher.

The money went.

To the employee Christmas party.

I have money.

It’s a nice treat.

Poem Two

As soon as I saw my name

Regret rose in my stomach

Impulse bidding

In a silent auction

I don’t need this movie

I need to pay tuition

I need to buy textbooks

I need gas in my car

So guilt fills my mouth with bile

as I fish a crumpled bill from my pocket.

Photo Credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/83346641@N00/8609444344/”>JD Hancock</a> via <a href=”http://compfight.com”>Compfight</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

